Chronology of Stupidity

Several weeks ago, I received an email from an Ali Fawaz of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) inviting me to conduct a “business” transaction “…very much free from all sorts of RISKS and TROUBLE.” He claims to be the “Chief Accountant/Internal Auditor of the Contract Award Committee”. On a whim (read as bored), I decided to take him up on the offer. What follows is the result of my boredom.

The first email with the “business proposal”. No emails have not been edited in any way.

This message is not flagged. [ Flag Message – Mark as Unread ]
From: “Ali Fawaz” Add to Address BookAdd to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Subject: OIL BUSINESS.
Date: Thu, 19 Jan 2006 10:48:40 +0000

From The Desk of
Engr. Ali Fawaz.
(NNPC).

After due deliberation with my colleagues, I have decided to forward to
you
this business proposal. We want a reliable person who could assist us
to
transfer the sum of Four Hundred and Fifty Million United States
Dollars
(US$450,000,000 )into his / her account. This fund resulted by way of
gratification from a contract awarded by us under the budget allocation
to
my Ministry and this bill has been approved for payment by the
concerned
Ministries. The contract has since been executed, commissioned and the
contractor company, paid off. We are left with the
balance of US$450M which was given to us by the company for influencing
the
contract in their favour amidst heavy competition from rival companies.
But
under our protocol division, civil servants are forbidden to operate or
own
foreign accounts. This is why I am contacting you to be our custodian
for
this fund. As you may want to know and to make you less curious, I got
your
contacts through a business trade directory after series of intensive
search
for possible assistance.

I am the Chief Accountant/Internal Auditor of the Contract Award
Committee (
CAC ) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation(NNPC). This
transaction
is very much free from all sorts of RISKS and TROUBLE. We the N.N.P.C.
Officials involved in this deal have put in many years in service to
this
Ministry. We have been exercising patience for this opportunity for so
long
and to most of us this is a life time opportunity we cannot afford to
miss.
You need not to worry about the responsibilities of transferring this
fund
into your account, for all the administrative steps needed for the
transfer
of this fund into your designated bank account will be done by me. I
and my
colleagues have agreed to COMPENSATE you duly if agreement is reached
by
both of us.

I and one of my colleagues involved in this deal will come to your
country
to arrange for our share, upon the confirmation from you that the money
has
been credited into your nominated bank account. Consequent upon your
acceptance of this proposal, kindly confirm your interest by mail
on:alifawzco@walla.com

NOTE: In the event of your inability to handle this transaction please
inform us so that we can look for another reliable person who can
assist in
this respect. It might surprise you why we choose you and trusted you
for
this transaction. Yes, we believe that good friends can be discovered
and
business like this can not be realized without trust. This is why we
have
decided to trust you for this transaction. We are looking forward to
doing
this transaction with you. Be further informed that everyone?s interest
and
security had been considered before you were contacted, so be rest
assured
and feel free to go into this transaction with us. But let Honesty and
Trust
be our watchword throughout this transaction and your prompt reply will
be
highly
appreciated.

Thank you and God bless.

Best Regards,

Engr. Ali Fawaz.

This was my reply.

This message is not flagged. [ Flag Message – Mark as Unread ]
Date: Thu, 19 Jan 2006 03:27:50 -0800 (PST)
From: “wasted talent” Add to Address BookAdd to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Subject: Re: OIL BUSINESS.
To: alifawzco@walla.com

i’m interested. please give me your detail.

hasbee

He sent the following email twice (I just hate people who repeat themselves), once on the 23rd and once on the 24th using 2 different emails. The one on the 24th was sent from alifawz2002@yahoo.com.

This message is not flagged. [ Flag Message – Mark as Unread ]
Date: 23 Jan 2006 14:37:20 -0000
From: “Ali Fawaz” Add to Address BookAdd to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
To: geekrawk@yahoo.com
Subject: OIL BUSINESS.

DEAR HASBEE,

I HOPE THAT THIS MESSAGE MEETS YOU WELL. HOW ARE YOU TODAY WITH YOUR FAMILY AND BUSINESS?. I HOPE THAT ALL THINGS ARE WELL. LET ME USE THIS OPPORTUNITY TO THANK YOU FOR YOUR RESPONSES TO MY PROPOSAL AND ALSO YOUR ACCEPTANCE TO TAKE PART IN THIS VIABLE DEAL. I BELIEVE THAT WE SHOULD PURSUE THIS DEAL WITH ALL SERIOUSNESS AND DEDICATIONS BECAUSE ITS ONE CHANCE IN A LIFETIME AND IT DOESN’T COME EVERY TIME.

MAY I USE THIS MEDIUM ALSO TO SOLICIT YOUR TOTAL COOPERATION, ASSISTANCE AND REAL COMMITMENT TOWARDS THE SUCCESS OF THIS TRANSACTION. WE SHALL PUT OUR HEAD TOGETHER TO ACHIEVE THE SUCCESS OF THIS TRANSACTION. YOU MUST ALSO TRY TO MAINTAIN THE CONFIDENTIALITY OF THIS DEAL AT ALL TIME TILL WE FINALISE IT.

I HAVE MADE ALL THE NECESSARY CONTACT WITH ALL INFLUENTIAL PEOPLE THAT WILL HELP US. EVERYTHING IS POSSIBLE IN A BLACK RACE SO FAR YOU HAVE THE MEANS AND RESOURCES AND HAVE ACCESS WITH THE PEOPLE IN THE CORRIDORS OF POWER. WE CAN FINISH THIS DEAL AND GET THE MONEY CONFIRMED IN YOUR ACCOUNT IN A MATTER OF DAYS DEPENDING ON OUR SPEEDY TAKE OFF.

IT ALL DEPENDS ON ONE’S CONTACT AND CAPABILITY. SO I NEED YOUR ASSISTANCE TO SUCCEED IN THIS DEAL BECAUSE I CANNOT CARRY IT OUT ALONE. I WISH THAT WE WOULD HAVE A FRUITFUL BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP THAT WILL TAKE US TO THE HEIGHT OF OUR GOLDS.

IN OTHER FOR US TO COMMENCE THESE TRANSACTION, YOU ARE REQUIRED TO FURNISH ME WITH THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION BELOW.

(A) NAME OF YOUR BANK

(B) ACCOUNT NAME (BENEFICIARY OF ACCOUNT)

(C) ACCOUNT NUMBER

(D) BANK ADDRESSES, TEL AND FAX NUMBER.

(E) YOUR PRIVATE PHONE AND FAX NUMBER.

(F) YOUR COMPANY LETTER HEADED PAPER, ( IF ANY).

UPON RECEIPT OF THE ABOVE REQUESTED INFORMATION FROM YOU, WE SHALL MAKE THE COMMENCEMENT OF THE TRANSACTION, WHICH SHALL BY THE GRACE OF GOD TAKES A DURATION OF 7 BANK WORKING DAYS TO CONCLUDE.

I NEED YOUR FULL COOPERATION AND DEDICATION AT ANY STAGE OF THIS TRANSACTION. PLEASE MY FRIEND, DUE TO SECURITY REASONS, PLEASE DON’T NOT LET ANYBODY KNOW ABOUT THIS DEAL UNTIL WE CONFIRME THE FUNDS IN YOUR ACCOUNT.

OUR NATIONAL APEX BANK IS GOING TO CONTACT YOUR BANK AS SOON AS THE FUND IS TO BE WIRED INTO YOUR NOMINATED BANK ACCOUNT, PAYMENT JUSTIFICATION IS GOING TO BE PROVIDED TO YOUR BANK AS SOON AS THE FUND IS TO BE REMITTED.

YOU DON’T NEED TO BE WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING. THE TRANSACTION IS 100% RISK FREE. THERE IS NO INLEGAL STRINGS ATTACHED. JUST KEEP THE DEAL STRICTLY CONFIDENTIAL.

ONCE AGAIN SORRY FOR THE DELAY TO GET BACK AT YOU, IT IS DUE TO MY OFFICIAL ASSIGNMENT TO A REMOTE VILLAGE, YOU ARE FREE TO CONTACT ME ON MY DIRECT TELEPHONE NUMBER (234-80499608), I WILL BE PLEASE TO SPEAK YOU VERBALLY, PLEASE ACKNOWLEDGE THE RECEIPTS OF MY EMAIL TO EXPEDITE ACTION.

REGARDS,
ENGR. ALI FAWAZ.

Followed by this reminder on the 26th.

This message is not flagged. [ Flag Message – Mark as Unread ]
Date: Thu, 26 Jan 2006 05:43:56 -0800 (PST)
From: Send an Instant Message “ali fawaz” Add to Address BookAdd to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Yahoo! DomainKeys has confirmed that this message was sent by yahoo.com. Learn more
Subject: REMINDER
To: geekrawk@yahoo.com
Dear Sir,

I am writing you in regards to the US$450,000,000 oil business transfer which you accept to assist for the transfer of the funds and i sent you a mail and the details of the transaction, yet i have not heard anything from you. WHY THE SILENT?
Awaiting to hear from you ASAP.

Regards.
Engr, Ali Fawaz.

This was my reply.

This message is not flagged. [ Flag Message – Mark as Unread ]
Date: Thu, 26 Jan 2006 07:09:32 -0800 (PST)
From: “wasted talent” Add to Address BookAdd to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Subject: Re: OIL BUSINESS.
To: alifawzco@walla.com

ali,

Sorry for the delay. As much as I’d like to take your
word on this matter, I’d prefer some proof in black
and white. Please furnish the following.

” I am the Chief Accountant/Internal Auditor of the
Contract Award Committee (CAC ) of the Nigerian
National Petroleum Corporation(NNPC).”

You say you hold this position. Please furnish details
and supporting documents.

Regards
Hasbee

Several more emails passed between us, basically me asking him to provide proof of his identity, among other things. He also had the gall to ask me to prove who I was.

Thanks for your conciousness as regarding this transaction, first let me use this medium to salute the spirit behind your coriousity, anyway there are scam rumored all over the places but let use the same medium to reasured that my proposal to you did not in anyway signified scam, i will be very mush please to furnish with a proof of my identification without hesitation.

However, time is not our friend in this transaction in my previous mail to you i ask you to tell me more of your very self for me to know who my partner his, finally i will appreciate your speedy response to mail so that my Identification can be accorded to you.

Ali Fawaz – Engineer, NNPC, in an email dated 1st Feb 2006

I believe this is the scam Mr. Ali Fawaz is referring to.

I replied, telling him that it was he that came to me first and if he didn’t know who I was, where did he get my email from. Today all this effort has paid off, he has finally produced his identification and all my worries have been set aside. I look forward to spending my share of the US$450,000,000 on my own island where I can listen to any band I want and sacrifice as many goats as I want. Engineer Ali Fawaz has been informed of my intentions.

This message is not flagged. [ Flag Message – Mark as Unread ]
Date: Thu, 2 Feb 2006 07:22:43 -0800 (PST)
From: Send an Instant Message “ali fawaz” Add to Address BookAdd to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Yahoo! DomainKeys has confirmed that this message was sent by yahoo.com. Learn more
Subject: ATTACHED IS MY IDENTIFICATION
To: geekrawk@yahoo.com

Dear hasbee,

I am in receipt of your mail dated on the 2nd instant 2006,and the content is well understood.I have told you earlier,and to make you less curious,I got your contacts through a business trade directory after series of intensive search for reliable, trusted person who will help us to transfer the funds into his or her account.

I am please to forward to you my identification as requested, please do acknowledge.However, i will appreciate your call since my effort to speak to you verbally proved abortive,once again your speedy response will be highly appreciated so that we can moved to the next stage of this transaction.

Furthermore let me reconfirm my telephone number to you,234-8030499608 await you call soon.

Thanks God bless and your family.

Regards.

Engr. Ali Fawaz

Image hosting by Photobucket

    • amir
    • February 7th, 2006

    you might wanna check these websites out regarding the 419ers:

    http://www.geocities.com/a_kerenx/
    http://www.geocities.com/steerp1ke/
    http://419eater.com/

  1. thanks amir. after surfing 419eater.com, i think i should have taken this much further.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

